Windows is at it again.

aka Danksy

Registered
Just got Windows 7 because I am a student and they are offering it to students for a highly discounted rate.

I got Windows 7 Professional 64bit upgrading from XP 32bit

WHAT THEY DONT TELL YOU

is that when you purchase it they don't give you the ISO file they give you some garbage install/compressed folder.

AND if you have 32bit XP which 60% of ALL windows users have, it cannot extract the "box" files associated with Pro64bit.

SO NOW you have to rip apart the folders they so kindly gave you, create an ISO file out of thin air then figure out how to format it to a seperate disk.

if you have a DVD-R you can do this but I do not on my other netbook GREAT

so I went the flash drive route, HOWEVER if you bought a flash drive in the last year it too comes with some GARBAGE AUTORUN file because these companies who create flash storage think they are brilliant.

what that means, is when you try to mount windows 7 ISO on it, it explodes.

GREAT

thank you Microsoft for once again restoring my COMPLETE lack of faith in you as a company.

you managed to ignore an operating system that 60% of your users have, and 3 out of every 4 Vista owners reverted back too.

:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

I am not sure but seems when I upgraded a couple workstations from 32 to 64b XP, I ended up doing clean installs..

Wouldnt the thing "boot" with the install dvd to set up the drive? (now you loose the previous install though)

Did you get the thing to "upgrade" ?

Last edited:
Isn't the trouble more going from 32-64? I've heard nothing good about trying to upgrade from a 32 bit to a 64 bit.

FWIW YMMV

Mac is still doing some pretty good things though. :whistle:

You cant install a 64 bit version of windows over a 32bit version. and even if you managed to some how rip the files off the cd to run on a flash drive and some how get it to install, you will destroy your OS and any data on the drive.