Where oh where has common sense gone...

Cap,

I agree and disagree with you at the same time. We should protect the honor of our soldiers just as much as they protect us by putting their life on the line. At the same time I don’t see how we can prosecute someone for a lie. He told a group of people that he served and was awarded metals. That means he has no morals or values and should be caned from his job as he has no right to represent “the people†anymore. I do not see this any worse off (as the law should see it) as me telling my boss I got a degree from some Ivy League school when I did not. Is it illegal to pretend to be a police officer, doctor, or lawyer? Not if you are only telling a bunch of people that you are. It becomes illegal once to try to perform said services that it becomes illegal and then it becomes fraud which is different that lies. He should not be prosecuted for that lie unless he tried to perform the services of “said†Marine and since he didn’t have the courage to step on the battle field or on a base in uniform I have to say he should not be prosecuted. Now, as Skydivr said… We should be prosecuting him for fraud based upon the monetary value of the services and goods that we can PROVE he ONLY got from venders/people based upon his claim of phony service.

If we start this slippery slope of some lies are illegal and some are not who gets to say which professions qualify and which don’t? Where will it stop? Just because you and I have strong moral values doesn’t mean everyone does. It is against some people’s religion to back/support the military. Does a judge have the right to say your values matter more than the next guy? I fully agree that our service man and woman deserve the up most respect but not everyone feels that way. We need to make laws that are not discriminatory against anyone, even the jerks who think it’s okay to lie about it. Fire him from office and get him on the fraud. Karma will take care of the rest.