What's your redline???

money mike

Registered
Hey guysI heard that balancing your crank increases your redline.. how do you know what your new redline is???
Thanks

Hey guysI heard that balancing your crank increases your redline.. how do you know what your new redline is???
Thanks

Shouldn't your crank be balanced at Production? But I know that you can increase tolerance and make it better. But how do you relate this to redline output? I am no expert, so I hope someone can clarify this.

Well according to alot of people... the factory does a horrible job at balancing, they just put it in the bike and go. and from what i've heard, balancing, frees up power as well as makes the bike run smoother, and increase your redline??

The factory does a fair job of balancing the motors. A good balance job is a good thing. To have a higher redline you have to reflash the ecu, balancing the motor alone will not raise your redline.

Fred

Balancing is only a small part, if you really want increased rev range, you need to lighten the reciprocating mass, put in stronger valve springs and bigger cams. Without these mods, there would be no point to "balancing to increase red line" because your top end power begins to fall off before the factory red line anyway.

+1 your valve train is the first limiting factor. After that you've got to think about piston speed.
Balancing is only a small part, if you really want increased rev range, you need to lighten the reciprocating mass, put in stronger valve springs and bigger cams. Without these mods, there would be no point to "balancing to increase red line" .