Twisty advice??

Charlesbusa

Used to be a SoCal Busa
Donating Member
Registered
For you guys who scrape pegs, what do you think of this advise I got from another busa rider. (Especially going downhill)Load up your suspension by using both brakes before&going into the corner. He also talked about using brakes and some throttle at the same time going into corners. My technique has been to finish all braking before I start my lean, maybe not the fastest but I've never heard of braking and throttling(a little) together. I also ride twisties with the balls of my feet on the peg. It's definately awkward for me to use the rear while leaning.

Charles,

I will try and answer...

*insert disclaimer here*
I am not a professional rider, and even if I was, I would not try and tell you what to do... Everything listed and mentioned on this post reply is purely from the author's (me) knowledge and is not meant to instruct anyone! If you choose to do anything stupid based on my reply, it is your own #### fault!
*end disclaimer*

I believe your freind is referring to "trail braking" and it does incorporate braking into the turn. However, I have never heard of using throttle at the same time. Essentially, trail braking does help to load the suspension and allows you to enter turns at a quicker pace (since you are still braking going into it). Most pros will manage to add between 1/2 to 1 bike length to a turn using this technique. Not much, but, if you do this on 20 turns you can see the advantage.

The downsides:
1. Trail braking is dangerous if anything goes wrong, you will FEEL it in your burnt-up scraped ass!
2. Never trail brake in a reverse camber turn.

Also, in regards to your balls-of-the-feet part... Normally, you apply the majority of trail braking to the fronts.