Transmission questions

Kassofcmb

Registered
Well it's official, I have the dreaded 2nd gear issue. I was going to have Daniel from Cloud Nine do the work but I just can't afford it like I thought (sorry bud) so I am going to just have to do it myself.

That said, can anyone tell me after I get the engine off the bike, how do I get to the transmission? I have a shop manual but after skimming over it I still don'f fully understand (under oil pan or what? Yeah I know... I'm a newb)

Wow, if your a newbie to that kind of work, you need to get ahold of someone who has done this stuff before. Good Luck!

I would talk to Daniel and see what kind of deal he will work out with you. It's not a task for the non-mechanically inclined, and if you screw it up (don't line up the oil holes in the output shaft for example) things can go very bad in a hurry......

Well Like I said I was just skimming it. But the way it reads in the engine break down is that you have to remove the head to get to transmission and that just sounds wrong to me. Who knows I may have been reading the wrong chapter (that book is a very dry read) and that is why I ask the question. Don't worry I assume all responsibility for my impending mistakes.

I am about to tackle it as well. I have a used tranny I am about to send off for cutting.

There are a few threads on the tear down, but the best one lost the pics. From what I remember from the thread is you do not have to take off the head...but the manual says you do.

Well my wife says if I wait till May we can afford Cloud Nine, does she even understand how far away MAY is We've had 3 sunny days so far!

I work on bikes and actually went to school for it. I highly discourage you on doing it yourself. There's a lot of things that the manual does'nt tell you. Let a pro or a veteran "bike" mechanic help you.