Suzuki Gel Hayabusa Seat

gfunko

Registered
Any feedback on this particular OEM gel seat from Suzuki? I had the Suzuki Gel seat for my 07 GSXR 1000 and was fairly disappointed when I realized it was literally just a 3/4 thick gel pad (about the size of a mouse pad) right below the seat over, and the rest was all the same dense (if not denser) seat foam. I did read some where that the gel on this seat is actually below a layer of foam which is the better place for the foam? Anyways, just wanted to see if anyone is running this seat and how its held up for them. I did also read on .org that this seat was made by Saddleman's? Does it have the same break-in period as Saddleman's seats?

800460990A0-61008-CRB HAYABUSA GEL SEAT.jpg

I have been using mine for the last 5 years now.

It is firmer than stock(but not Honda firm), which is both good and bad.
I found on the stock seat I would sink through the foam and would have all my weight on the seat frame.
The gel seat prevents that issue, but it is harder than I would like.

It is great in the twisties for moving around on the bike, but anything over 2 hours and I would prefer something else.

6qtEfnm.jpg

I have had mine for 3 years and it's great. I have not had issues with the gel getting hot or padding issues. Its a good seat for the money IMHO. I will also say that mine seems to be wearing out now as it is not a comfortable as it used to be. If you want an all day touring seat this is probably not the best choice but for fast or slow general street riding it's a fair deal for the price.

Damn, I'm glad y'all mention the best purpose for the seat. I mainly commute on my bike but still go on 3+hr rides so I want something super comfy vs looks.