Second gear is slipping at 50,000 miles.

keys

Registered
My 05 busa runs fine except under hard acceleration in 2nd gear. The shop says that it's getting rounded. In order to fix it the engine has to be pulled. Since I'm paying for the engine is coming out, and all the labor that it's takes, it must me time to get the engine rebuilt. As you can tell I ride alot, so it needs to be streetable. I want more power but all engine. No Turbo or Super Charger. A good kit will due. I would prefer to remain a 1300cc. What kit would you guys suggest? If you've done this to your bike, what combo did you use, and what are you making at the rear wheel?

from what i read around here the big bore kit and some cams would do u great. but i have no personal experience with anything like that, just throwing around what ive read on here

If you "prefer to stay at 1300cc" then just have a basic rebuild. Either a re ring or bore, just enough to clean up the cylinders, and new bearings. A full exhaust, air box mod, and a power commander or better yet, ECU Editor with a dyno tune...if you don't already have these. Combined, all good for around ten hp and smooth throttle throughout the rpm's.
If you change the cams, a couple more hp, and an aftermarket head(expensive) will change your rideability. The bike's throttle response may be a little agressive for what you seem to want. The same holds true for big bore and stroker kits, they are fine for the street, but probably not what you want. Then you're just left with the nitros, sc , and turbo that you don't want.
A rear sprocket with 2, or 3 more teeth would also give you the "feel" of a little more power, and your gas mileage would change only by a couple mpg's. Probably the cheapest and easiest way to get what you're looking for.

take it up to a 1347 with new bearings, seals etc... get the sproket..and a good tune