Running In your bikes....

HayAbuseD

Registered
I am wondering if anyone "run-in" their bikes the hard way? Or did everyone do it as per the manual.

For those that don't know what the 'hard' way is look HERE.

The theory sounds logical, but i am not very technical. If anyone with engine knowledge would care to share their opinion, I'd appreciate it.

Cheers and Ride Safe.

I believe that is where my link led to.....
11doh.gif

Would like to know if anyone has actually used the method.

Or someone who has enough knowledge to enlighten me on this subject.

When I bought my 98 vette, the dealer told me I didn't have to ride easy on it's V8 because it was designed to take it in any way shape or form. ...sort of related...
I am curious also if anyone has tried this. My busa dealer told me [have not purchased yet] that I could run it hard and skip the manual's breakin. I believe he had personal previous experience to back that up. This should be interesting.
In ANY case, it's all parts and metal, if something gets whacked, it's replacable [usually].
I'll let you know if I end up doing it HARD.

I have built numerous high performance engines with roller camshafts we have always broke them in the way you are going to run them. But with todays flat tappet cam shafts the manufacturer's are very specific on tyhe breakin process..

Mostly the way the dealer specified with a short burst of the throttle here and there........I also varied the RPM's while on the highway as they specified. Not to run at a steady RPM for the first 600 miles.......no cruising............hit it.....get off it..........that's what I did.

LOTS OF UP AND DOWN ON THE RPM'S. iF YOU NOTICE THOUGH ON A bUSA BREAK IN RPM'S WILL GET YOU @ AND OVER 100MPH.

On the busa I did not take over 8,000rpms until about 400mi. On the gix750. I did not take it over 6000rpms for the first 20mi. Then I was on it.

Thanks to all for your feedback.