Questions from a newbie - Common Problems

CPU Hacker

Registered
I have just gotten an 05 Red Busa and have put 80 miles on it. I also just joined this site. So I am an admitted newbie to both. Here are some things that I noticed in my one day ride that I have questions about. Just want to know if they are normal or should I go to the dealer complaining about some of the problems.

1) Rough Idle
2) Vibration around 4000 to 5500 RPM. Plus some surging or flat spot there.
3) Headlight doesn't seem very bright, or out of adjustment.
4) Speedometer seems to read about 6-7 MPH too fast.
5) Foot pegs stick to my boot even raising the peg.
6) Windscreen is really low covering top of gauges. But I am 6' 4" so it could just be my height.

Well that is it. All comments are welcome and thanks.

Congrats & Welcome!

Most of what you've noticed are common to the Busa...

1) Rough Idle[/QUOTE]
Usually the idle is set too low from the Stealer. Adjust it up to around 1150 +/- 50 RPM

2) Vibration around 4000 to 5500 RPM. Plus some surging or flat spot there.[/QUOTE]
Yeah, seems to be common. My '04 is the same. A PCIII w/map may be able to cure? Some other members may have some ideas.

3) Headlight doesn't seem very bright, or out of adjustment.
4) Speedometer seems to read about 6-7 MPH too fast.[/QUOTE]
REAL common! Headlight is pointing WAY low, needs to be adjusted. Also for brightness, the economy way of fixing would be to install a SilverStar bulb. Little more $$$ will get ya HID...nice & bright! For the Speedo...VERY common! Cure: SpeedoHealer.

I'll be posting pics (hopefully later today) on both the above...I just installed them last night!

5) Foot pegs stick to my boot even raising the peg.[/QUOTE]
Hmmm...not sure there...unless ya have something sticky on yer boots!

6) Windscreen is really low covering top of gauges. But I am 6' 4" so it could just be my height.[/QUOTE]