normal or best rpm range for everyday driving

wtjames02

Registered
i really hope i dont get flamed for this thread,but i just got an 01 busa,and i have nobody to ask,so here goes,i cant find a smooth shift rpm,i searched here and found lots of posts for racing/top spped shifts,but im new to riding and the bikes just feels"clunky" when i shift,not sure if its because im new to the bike or if im doing something wrong,i get a little nervous at high rpms so i shift around 5000... i beleive its stock except yoshimura exhaust,any help would be great....thanks

you have an 01. Did you put a "TRE" or "ATRE" or similar device on your bike yet (speed limiter remover). If so then the 1st thing you will notice is that it's really smothed out 1-3 gears. This will help your low level vibrations as well as ease up on your shifting "Feel" some. Not that it has anything to do with your shift but when the bike feels sluggish you shift sluggish. Secondly. Your shifting to slow in combination with your jerky clutch movements. It's funny but including mine and everyone else ive been around. Riders with life experiece riding and they all had the same problem. Clunky herky jerky shifts. As you ride it will smooth out to the point you will begin speed shifting and not even feel the inertia pull during shift.
smile.gif
My ride buddies used to laugh when I did it and Ive ridden longer then they have. I ended up putting Heavy duty clutch springs in to make the lever pull more stiffer which in turns make you slip it smoother.

JD

thanks,that helps out alot,ive been trying to ride as much as i can between the rain and a crazy work schedule,to try and get a feel for the bike,like i said im terrified of getting too high in the rpms and doing a wheelie...lol...another thing what is a "tre" and where/how much do they normally cost?