New Guy wanting a Busa

CAT3

Donating Member
Registered
Hello everyone, not a new rider, but new to this site. I am currently in Afghanistan and waiting til next year upon my return to pick up a new Busa. I have several years riding experience, and have rode a friends Busa....yeah I fell in love with it right away.
Since I am due back May/June 2005, I am looking into a 04' or 05'. I have seen talk about the shift fork shaft being a weak when using modded power adders, or racing. I dont plan on racing, but if it is a weak link in the 04's then is it a good idea to replace it anyway? Also, heard the clutches are recommended to be upgraded. Is this another race-only good idea (bad for street and occasional strip) or good overall?
Other than pm-wheels, who else makes quality, chrome wheels for Busa's? And any other general accessories, sliders, windscreens etc...is there a more complete all-in-one on-line store, or no?
What would be an estimate on longevity/reliability for a stock Busa using a 15-25 shot of Nitrous? Are the stock engines capable of handling it?
BTW, I live in Hawaii, thanks to the Army. There are several Busa racers there, but until lately I havent thought that much about getting one, so I never talked with them first hand. I am looking at the Busa for its reputation, comfort, style, and basically the whole package.

Thanks,

Welcome
smile.gif

I have seen talk about the shift fork shaft being a weak when using modded power adders, or racing.  I dont plan on racing, but if it is a weak link in the 04's then is it a good idea to replace it anyway?

Also, heard the clutches are recommended to be upgraded.  Is this another race-only good idea (bad for street and occasional strip) or good overall?

Other than pm-wheels, who else makes quality, chrome wheels for Busa's?

And any other general accessories, sliders, windscreens etc...is there a more complete all-in-one on-line store, or no?