mph and lunch rpm's

los91

Registered
hi guys i have a 05 turbo with 8lbs of boost .. i ran the 1/4 mile last week ... i had a 1.7 60 " 9.40 at 150 ... im 200lbs i have 18/46 ...do yall think the mph is close to right or should it be higher ...and do yall think 18/48 will help the et. and mph.. i had two passes do to a little oil leak so i know i can get my 60" to about 1.5s....any advice will be helpfull ....btw i went faster last year with the stock motor but now i have low 9.5 pistons its a whole different bike ...

los91 i was in the same boat u are in.....sounds like to me that u are letting the rpms drop due to the low et....but the gearing is about right for your weight...biggest thing is gonna be is SEATTIME.....listen to these guys they know their stuff and be patient...turbos area different ballgame trust me and im still learning

you are right ...conrad long ..i hold it at about 7500-8000 but when i leave it drops too about 7000 ...practice is going to make me better i guess ... man that low compression motor is a mother:laugh::laugh::laugh:

it takes time to get it to all come together....i have a 2step on mine set at 7500 rpm so im wide open when i release the clutch...im playing with gearing right now currently im running 18/43 set up

i was thinking about a 2step but didn"t know if it would work on a turbo bike ..its so hard to hold 8000 rpm without letting it drop so that might be a good idea.i need to learn it at 10lbs before i get a ams1000 and go to about 20lbs

Did you flash the ECU with EE for gear map in N? This will dump more fuel in the motor to spool the turbo with no load with the clutch in. Neutral map (clutch in) trims fuel and will take longer to get into boost when launched.

Good luck

~JH

i thank so ... stedmans motor sport tune the bike down in alabama.. ill have to ask jay if he did that i know he flash the ecu.... dont know what could have the mph so low ...150-153 1/4 mile that seems off...