Master link issue

blusmbl

Registered
So I put a new EK ZZZ chain and steel sprockets (+2 rear) on the Hayabusa over the winter. I have never used a chain press before, and think I jacked it all up.

4432141319_4c23dd0ff2_o.jpg

Besides the plate being on backwards (my garage is dim!!!), the rivet heads are split slightly. I used the guide plate spacers so the width is okay and the o-rings aren't squished out, but I'm worried about the splits. Is this going to fail prematurely, and should I put a new master link on it? I had no idea how much I needed to press them over, but apparently I went too far.

Thoughts? I've ridden it to work once so far, with no catastrophic failures. The +2 rear feels great, and I have the speedohealer calibrated to within .5 mph at 60. :D

I do have a new master link sitting here, but I'll have to borrow or rent a chain tool again to install it. Is the one on the bike destined to fail?

Curious in Detroit,
Nick

Well, if it makes you feel any better, I split one of my rivet heads on the link to my track R6 like you did. I've been riding it at track speed (triple digits, hard braking/downshifting, sudden acceleration, etc..) and its still holding after 2 years of that kind of treatment.

I think a new link is about $6 so if it were me I would change it for sure.
Especially if you already have one.
No substitute for peace of mind.
They just have to be expanded a bit, from the look of them about 1/2 of what you did to those.
Check them no matter what everytime you lube the chain.
Good luck!

How much could your local shop charge for a link? They have the tools and the know-how to ease your mind.

I would replace it myself but have customers that did install themselves with same result and their fine.keep a eye on it if you don't.

Alright, I'll probably just change it. I already bought a spare master link. Like you guys said, for peace of mind.

Thanks!