hot start prob "i think"

Dae

Registered
hi,
i have hot start problem well i think it is. start from cold and runs fine until its turned off. come back a few mins later and engine will just keep turning over without firing. leave until cool and starts no trouble. it isnt every time but becomming more regular. engine has done 11,000 miles and it is a 99 bike. TRE and micron cans fitted if that is relevant. someone has said that it could be the thermal temp switch located on the block left hand side on the back of number one cylinder. has anyone else suffered similar probs with any solutions ?? be gentle i am new to busas

Do you use the choke (fast idle switch, whatever you wanna call it) even when the motor is hot? Mine is a 2003 with around 350 miles and it sometimes does the same thing. If I use the choke it fires right up every single time. I think yer question has been asked here before and I think the general opinion was that this is normal and that the choke should be used even when hot.

If I'm wrong, someone will be by shortly to flog me with a wet noodle. :cool:

No flogging BulletTrain.....But the "choke" is nothing more than a cable attached to the throttle linkage to crack open the throttle and hold it there so you don't have to. In essence it is just a higher idle screw setting. I haven't seen anything that would indicate the ECU is signaled differently other than throttle position.

Sorry DAE, I can't help much on the hot start problem. Are you getting a "code" when it is hot and won't start?

no sgnals or lights or anything out the ordinary. engine pulls like a train and sounds typically suzuki. someone also mentioned injector filters pump filter but would these have been done at service intervals??
thanks

Sierra,

I thought that was the case. That's why I included the "fast idle switch" comment. I didn't think fuel injection actually used "chokes" anymore. :cool: