Hayabusa Starting issues

AgentSmithers

Registered
Greetings everyone,
I am an owner of a 2002 GSX 1300R. The bike has been amazing up until sometime these last 3 threes years I've noticed after the Bike gets warm it gets difficult to start and I have to wait for it to cool down. I was thinking too much heat was getting to one of the electrical wires causing the current to face more resistant's getting to the starter but I am not an expert in bikes so I road it to the local dealer. The dealer purchased a replacement radiator fan and a switch for the unit and it took approx. 8-9 months for the part to come in.

The part came in and now the dealer has reported that the bike no longer starts and found that there was a build up of material being done around the fuel pump. He sent me a text saying it appears to be from "gas that's gotten old", however before I bought the bike to him I did drive it quite a bit and I'm sure I can go back and the route I took as I always tip off the gas before parking (I've been burned by the fuel pump many years ago).

So I asked him if since he's had possession of the bike that he has been routinely starting it and he said "Yes, but here are here now and its not starting" and proceeded to quote me $900 for the pump. I don't mind paying it if its part of the issue of not starting but from my understanding stuff like this only happens if they let the bike sit? For instance I understand a Residue can build on the outside of the pump, however aren't there injectors where the fuel goes inside that can only get clogged after long periods of none use. I assume the residue would flow threw not having a chance to gather and burn off into the engine.

Anyone have any professional incite, anything would be very helpful. I don't want to mistakenly pay for a replacement pump if its not apart of the original issue or from something else?

How do professional shops normally handle bikes with parts ordered long term?