hayabusa not starting

mrshryock

Registered
I have a 99 busa last week it had problems starting i thought it was the starter but now i'm not sure I pulled the starter idle gear and the big gear that caches the starter is shaved perfect on half of it all the way around need to know if this would keep it from starting before i buy a new starter that i dont need.. help please:banghead:

Wish I could help, bro...

I know what I'd do with mine, but... :whistle:

Good luck! :beerchug:

Yes the battery checks good i even hooked up a second batt and it trys to tour but just squells like the starter is just wineing all most and is i hould the starter button after a min it will try so i dont know

If I read you correctly, you said the gear that engages the starter is ground off? I mean, I'm no mechanic, but that seems rather obvious. Unless I'm missing something here.

yes but its only half i thought that it still should catch but i'm not sure its the starter idle gear i'm going to buy a new one 2maro hopefully that fixs it

yes but its only half i thought that it still should catch but i'm not sure its the starter idle gear i'm going to buy a new one 2maro hopefully that fixs it

You say the engine is turning over, but you hear a whining sound. That sounds like missing the teeth to me. Did your bike start rough before, like maybe a crunching sound? :poke:

anyone know how to check the starter to see if its good i tryied the starter button without the gears in and it spins so does that mean its good i didnt know if it would spin if it was no good but it does without a load on it.

:rofl: if the gear is missing teeth it cant engage and turn over the motor...DUH !
the starter itself only spins the gear on the starter doesnt move in or out, it only engages and disengages on the gear that actually turns the motor over, it not like a car where there is a solenoid in play

you can always push start it...use second gear for that, 1st will make you drop it