Frame up Build with mods and carbon fibre.

CraigMcleod

Registered
This build has been on a back burner for sometime, suddenly we’re all locked in due to this crazy situation so time to make a start. My day job is repairing and producing carbon fibre components mainly for cycle frames also motorbikes and the odd GT race car. To make it more interesting I’d like to use some of my skills in this build, I know where my strengths are so may struggle and learn in other areas!
A couple of years ago I happened upon crash damaged low mileage gen 2 Busa, much of the front end was toast and frame an insurance write off (although it was actually undamaged).
My plan is to build a unique, reliable mile crunching road going missile. It must be quick, include latest tech (for a Busa) and look fkn awesome. So without further ado here we go. Time to pull out the remains from storage and strip it down.

66F7A2E8-0BDB-4128-88F6-1DDE9216402B.jpeg

3E9105A3-2F9F-4C9C-8BB3-85B522BC020B.jpeg

View attachment 1616950

38618A88-E898-4280-BAA2-C6FD6227270D.jpeg

Last edited:
This bike is purely for road use, I’ve had few scrapes, crashes and near misses, with this experience I feel ABS is the future! If that one time you ‘must’ grab a hand full of brake due to some num nucks doing the unthinkable it gives vital seconds to hopefully divert a situation! Being a K8 ABS was not an option so my plan is to install it, sounds straight forward but OMG what a mission. ABS pump and pipes go in easy after drilling frame and installing rivnuts to secure it... then the fun starts!

389EE9D8-5A8C-41EC-86B3-5A316478BC1C.jpeg