carbon fibre & fibreglass custom parts

roadracer85

Registered
hi everyone, this is just a thread to get your thoughts!

Im a composite engineer and i currently make many carbon fibre parts (and fibreglass parts) for the high end motorsport industry from British/world superbikes - touring cars/formula 1.

I currently race superbikes myself but i have a few mates that run busas and they are asking for carbon fibre items and glass products. But to do so i need to make moulds and it works out expensive just to do one bike. Im just wondering what anyones thoughts are and if i made the moulds,would anyone elde be interested in items such as carbon bodywork/accessories etc etc. I just need to get a feel of the interest.

I have done a Busa shark fin (goes near rear sprocket to protect fingers etc from getting caught up in a crash). These are available in coloured carbon.I have attached a picture for you to view in standard carbon.

please let me know either way

cheers folks

James

PIC_0319.JPG

PIC_0326.JPG

PIC_0320.JPG

I would like to see a set of quality carbon fiber inner panels. All the ones I have seen don't line up for crap
Posted via Mobile Device

yeah these are possible. If the mould is copied of an original part then the fit will be identical to an original part. Are these hard to get hold of in the market?

RR85,
Quierying for interest is great, but if you plan on advertising/selling on the boards, you will need to contact Captain (site owner) and disuss advertising requirements/sponsorship.
This is not to discourage you, it is just to let you know the policy.
Please contact me if there are any questions.
Thanks,
MCM

yeah these are possible. If the mould is copied of an original part then the fit will be identical to an original part. Are these hard to get hold of in the market?

hard to find a quality inner. I've seen several, each one just doesnt either follow the lines like they should, made cheap and is cracking/peeling, or just plain out doesnt fit.