fence question

red1100cc

Registered
i live on an acre of land with fences on all sides. on the western and northern side of my property, on all but a 20' section the boards face away from my property. i have been told the only part of the fence that is my responsability is the 20' section with the boards faceing in twards my property. is that correct? the weather and last weeks 70mph winds are working on the fence. i need to know who is responsable for fixing it, me or my neighbors.
im new to this whole land owner thing, and could use soms advice.

thanks for your help.

heres a few pics.

pics nov 2010 832.jpg

pics nov 2010 833.jpg

pics nov 2010 834.jpg

pics nov 2010 835.jpg

Get a 2x4 and put it across the top horizontal beam and screw it in. Cost ya $10 tops and fixes regardless of who's it is. Easiest way to go IMO

i would guess the fencing that you see the structure is yours, finished side showing is neighbors????

I like the idea of attaching a 2 x 4....pressure treated though!

i would guess the fencing that you see the structure is yours, finished side showing is neighbors????

I like the idea of attaching a 2 x 4....pressure treated though!

Thats how it is supposed to be, But you never know with some neighbors

talk to your neighbor....over the years,due too many factors fences can be built in the wrong spot. they are not always built on the property line.

Rules on fences on property lines vary from county to county and state to state.

In Georgia, some counties, if a fence is built on the property line and no one objects for (I forgot the number of years), the fence can become the property line and no one is allowed to take it down.

Laws and rules change all the time, check with a local survey company they should know what the current rules/laws are.

However, I concur with getting with the neighbors and every body fixing the fence together if no one wants to claim it.