End the agrument of TRE

diablotoona

Registered
As a fairly new member of this forum I have seen numerous arguments for and against the TRE mod.
I seems to me as no one really knows if there is timing pulled in the lower gears.
I work in the automotive calibration industry and i would figure that there is some sort of scan tool for the FI bikes for diagnostics. Using a tool like this and logging the timing with a TRE and without one would prove what the PCM logic does and end the arguments for good.
I have personally not put one on myself yet as i do not feel comfortable of the notion of running the same timing tables for all gears when the manufacturer designed individual ones per gear, it was done for a reason and since load is quite different from 1st to 5th gear i would think that the 5th gear map would have less timing in it than a 1st or 2nd gear map and you would actually loose performance and mileage.
If anyone knows of a scan tool for these bikes let me know i am game to test this issue.

Every dealership has a scantool.

Timing is retarded in lower gears to soften the throttle response artificially, Suzuki has admitted this themselves. The TRE removes this.
The timing retardation is only off closed throttle and not at WOT or anywhere close.

The argument is whether or not the fifth gear map and the first/second/third gear maps are different enough to change how the bike performs at higher throttle positions.

You've just convinced me I don't need or want one.

Thanks!

--Wag--

Finally, after all these years!

First off, I’m going to put everyone on notice on this post. He is asking a good question. Let’s try to make this a constructive thread and not pile it up with BS, one liners, and popcorn. If you try to post ho this one, flame, or turn it into the smack shack, I plan on taking action to keep it clean. Theory, opinions, and real world testing can be valuable.  Let see where this one goes and maybe we can pin it.