Any Military History buffs here ?

Blanca BusaLess

Suffers from PBSD
Donating Member
Registered
I have studied military history for most of my life and am deeply interested in preserving the knowledge for future generations to come. I studied all things from early Egypt to things like the conquests of Attila the Hun to the Crusades to European Wars. My favorite is American Military history . The Revolutionary War is still incredible to me but the two I am truly interested in are both world wars , WWI and WWII, most especially WWII.
To read about 100s of thousands of troops here or there in this battle or that one is still mind boggling. Battles of Stalingrad, the tank battle of Kursk and many others are simply , well historic !
If there is anyone who feels same of you should take a look at this series

I'll give you a fair warning though. It is not your saturday morning History Channel show.
It is brutal and shows things you have not seen in full color.
youtube link with clips. The rest of the episodes are on same page.
Apocalypse: The Second World War - Smithsonian Channel

Anyone who has 'The Smithsonian Channel' on Direct TV should check it out.
All episodes are in full color and full of never before seen footage.
Narrated by Martin Sheen.
In yrs of studying, reading and watching others there is no other as interesting and well put together.
Each one of these is truly a history lesson.

I have had unique opportunity by living here in So Florida as well as selling Lincolns for many yrs.
Not only does So Florida have highest concentration of WWII vets anywhere in US simply due to fact that many retire here but they all bought lincolns.
I have had opportunities to attend WWII vet reunions here many times and at one point in time met 3 of the men who were on the Enola Gay the plane that delivered the Atomic Bomb to Japan.