9th Bike, First Busa...

JokerUBMC

Registered
Hi everyone,

I'm Joker. New to the board, but not sportbikes. I currently own a 2006 Kawi ZX-10, a 1999 Suzuki TL100R (My First Love), and I just recently purchased a 2002 Suzuki Hayabusa. Found her on a message board where a guy was selling her with only 3100 miles. I couldn't resist jumping at the bike. She's gonna need a little TLC, but she's actually in VERY good condition.

I'm new to Busas and I've been riding Kawi's more consistently than anything else for the past three years. Any tips, tricks, or things to look out for on the Busa?

Looking forward to sharing with you guys and if you're ever in the Charlotte area, give me a shout. We can bend a few corners.

With a 12 year old bike and only 3100 miles I will assume that the tires are original.
Tires that old may be hard (probably) and the grip they can provide is going to be limited.
So if that is the case I would change the tires ASAP.

The kick stand mod is something that I would do ASAP if it's not been done.

Post a picture if you can and it will be easier for us to give you advice.

Oh yeah, most definitely. Tires, sprockets, chain, and probably rotors are the first things that are getting changed. A good tune up and fluid replacement are on the list too.

:rulez:

Plenty of good info on this forum :thumbsup: just plan on spending hours @ a time reading thru the threads on here and taking notes. You can literally modify this bike to no end....only the sky is the limit :laugh:

Post up a pic of your busa and that TL!! A Lot of us are Big Big fans of the TL 1000R :beerchug:

Yeah, she's slammed. Stretched 6 inches too. This is more of my Sunday Ride/Showpiece/Bike Night @ Twin Peaks or Hooters Bike. My ZX-10 is my speed demon. My TL is simply my first love, so I just want her running and sounding good.

So what is the story of your bike being red? I did't think they came that color in 2002.