Engine side case cover: how to...

mizfire

Registered
I began to remove this cover [alternator?], but found a strong magnetic pull resisting removal.
Is it just a matter of pulling harder, & will cover re-install w/o any trick alignment procedures etc? [Im a bit gun shy..]

MVC_022F.JPG

I have never taken mine off so I am not an expert here but the service manual calls it the generator cover. A generator has magnets in it to generate a magnetic field that is cut by the coil in the generator to induce voltage. I would say you should feel some magnetic pull when removing the cover.

be careful! the stator is bolted to the inside of the generator cover. you should be able to pull it out, but don't pull wildly, or the leads (running to the regulator?) that come out to the top-rear of the cover could pull loose. After removing, you can take out the 3 bolts holding the stator in place, hang it off to the side and continue to work on your cover. Can't remember if the orientation was critical for re-assembly, but I'd say mark it, just in case...

(Just had mine powder coated to cover some scrapes...)

-- Steve

<!--EDIT|expat
Reason for Edit: None given...|1120534660 -->

Just checked the parts manual , after you remove the ring of bolts the cover is held on with two dowels , so a bit of gentle levering will pop it off..

Thanks guys!

Expats post: "...be careful! the stator is bolted to the inside of the generator cover..". This is what I was looking for, an indication that the cover has something bolted to its inside.

I too am doing a cosmetic service on this cover as 'busa got laid down
sad.gif

I think I'll just refinish it on bike.......

Hey, do you have a copy of the service manual? I has been very usefull to me so far. If not you can get it here

<!--EDIT|Krieg
Reason for Edit: None given...|1120538981 -->

I decided to go for it...turns out to be as indicated.

Heres a pic of whats on the inside of alternator [or gen] cover.