WHO IS RUNNING 200/55zr17 REAR TIRE?

Ked0607

Registered
Looking for Gen 3 photos with this installed. Any downsides? Any TCS issues? Any ABS faults? Local dealer said it shouldn't be done due to ABS and traction control..... Want real world experienced input here.

tire GIF

Tim uses a 50 series on his 3 *

@monkeywhats the longterm review of this size? Also what mods needed to be fmdone for fitment? Did chainguard rub?

Looking for Gen 3 photos with this installed. Any downsides? Any TCS issues? Any ABS faults? Local dealer said it shouldn't be done due to ABS and traction control..... Want real world experienced input here.

I've been running a 200 for the last 20 years on Gen1, Gen2, and now on the Gen3. Also on my Z1000, and TL1000R. Your dealer doesn't know what they're talking about. The bike doesn't know the difference, and zero issues with ABS or TC. That's bunk.
However, the physics isn't wrong, 190 will turn in quicker, fall quicker, etc. Speedo won't be correct with a 200 (I use GPS speedo instead). But honestly, I just don't notice the difference, and all I ride are super-twisty roads.
200s are more expensive if you go through a lot of tires (like me), a bit harder to get on the rim (I change them all myself).

The why: It's very much a looks thing, it won't make you go faster, maybe even slower in the twisties. I've always liked the looks of the 200 going back 20 years to my Gen1.

Nothing rubs on any of the Gens with a 200. Plenty of room in there.

The TL1000R - plenty of room in there, TL uses same rims as the Gen1. Pretty sure it's the same swing arm as Gen1 also.
DSC02009.jpg

Coming home on a 200, on goes another 200 on my TL1000R
tire-change-TL1000R.jpg

200 vs stock 190 on the Gen3
20230310_110910.JPG

Three months later, off comes a 200, and back to a 190
DSC01177.JPG

Years worth of tires for the Gen3. Time for a dump run. I change them as soon as they get close to the 1000 miles or less mark.