What do they teach in MSF?

jellyrug

Donating Member
Registered
Never did the course of somethng similar.

Do they teach you how to fall, or what to do when you are about to crash?

The reason for the question is, after two bad crashes long time ago, falling off dirt bikes more times than I can remember and crashing at least 4 times a season in competitive cycling (the ones you pedal) I have never suffered a serious injury.

Every time I read a crash report here, I wonder when my turn comes. Half of the reports come with bad injuries.

My worst was a head-on at 65mph, didn't even get time to hit the brakes and I walked away with a scratched up helmet and a totalled bike.

Could all the injuries have something to do with the Busa's weight and the lean forward position we sit in?

MSF hits on basic riding skills. More of avoidance rather than when it happens.

+1 They teach avoidance over how to deal with a crash.

The MSF course is where I started riding and I genuinely feel like they entrenched some ideas at the very outset that will serve me well for as long as I ride.

Well there are different levels of MSF, but yes the basic is just that.

Corner speed has some great courses at VIR (Cornerspeed Motorcycle Roadcourse Instruction) depending on how dedicated you are to learning it may be worth the trip.

There is no better way to prepare for a crash than pushing your bike at a track.

In Oklahoma, they have the beginners MSF course and they have an advanced course that you ride your own bike on. I have not take the advanced, but would like to.

highly recommend the MSF course (Basic, ERC, etc.)...lost count how many times the lessons helped me ESCAPE/AVOID a spill.

they teach basic accident avoidance....

things to watch out for while on the road.

also they will run you thru a slow speed training program designed to teach bike control, throttle control and how to use the brakes...at a slow safe speed.