What all do I need to change to use a gen 1 swingarm on a gen 2?

Joshmc628

Registered
Found an extended swingarm from a Gen 1 busa and I just got it on. This is my first time swapping a swingarm ever and right now its not looking like it will work properly. It looks like rear wheel spacing is off because of the rear brake hanger. Will I have to change out for gen 1 calipers and the brake hanger? gen 1 rotors too? Currently the rear brake has abs. I dont care at all for rear abs but i don't want to lose my back brakes completely. Whats the minimum I need to make this work?
69920819_n.jpg?_nc_ht=scontent-dfw5-2.cdninstagram.jpg

Last edited:
Normally only the rear brake and the link bearings need to be swapped but it looks like you didnt have that issue? Maybe because its an aftermarket arm? Did your Gen 2 caliper bolt right on? Did it have a notch for your Gen 2 caliper or did you have to fabricate it? You shouldn't have to swap anything else.

Normally only the rear brake and the link bearings need to be swapped but it looks like you didnt have that issue? Maybe because its an aftermarket arm? Did your Gen 2 caliper bolt right on? Did it have a notch for your Gen 2 caliper or did you have to fabricate it? You shouldn't have to swap anything else.
Currently it’s not rideable I just kind of have everything mounted. I took my gen 2 links and put on here and didn’t have a problem with that(they’re custom links so probably interchangeable). There isn’t a notch for my rear brake caliper which is throwing everything off so would I have to get gen 1 calipers too? Would that mean gen 1 rotors and everything?

Currently it’s not rideable I just kind of have everything mounted. I took my gen 2 links and put on here and didn’t have a problem with that(they’re custom links so probably interchangeable). There isn’t a notch for my rear brake caliper which is throwing everything off so would I have to get gen 1 calipers too? Would that mean gen 1 rotors and everything?