Torque wrench info

OB_BullDog

Registered
Where in Canada is the best place to buy a torque wrench at a good price. What are some minimum features you should look for. I don't want to buy the first one I see on sale only to find out it breaks after a few uses...
any recommendations??

Just my two pence worth. If at all possible get a Snap On torque wrench. I work with torques daily and have seen the difference between a cheap and a good torque wrench first hand. This is one tool worth buying with a good name. Snap on dealers are pretty accesible and you can look them up on the net.www snap-on
Good luck

My Uncle -in-law I guess he calibrates tool for a living in Houston his I always send mine to him Once a year One time I sent him a Craftman torque wrench he phoned me to let me know it was 5 lbs off at 30ftlbs.
He told me snap-on only or Mac.
Never buy a torque wrench that is lets say 75 ftlbs and you plan on torquing to 72.5ftlbs you are now out of spec.You need a 100 ftlbs one.

Does anybody have a url or a phone number for Snap-On. You can't go into a store to buy their tools and I don't work at a shop where they visit.

You will probably need to buy 2 torque wrenches. I think there is one available from as little as 10 ft lbs to 50 ft lbs. the second torque wrench usually starts at 30 ft lbs and goes up to around 110 ft lbs. Unfortunately you need the smaller on bikes quite alot. The problem is you need the bigger one to as when it comes to tightening cylinderheads etc.

I know you can find Snap-on.co.uk on the web. I am sure you will find a Canadian Supplier. I would ask any garage near you. As generally where you find a Mechanic you will find a Snap on dealer.
Good Luck
P.S. Black and Charcoal Busa's are the fastest for sure!!!!

Go to CanuckTire. Buy the best one they have - forget what the CanuckTire brand is. They have more than one size. I think they mark them down once or twice a year. I have been using one and I'm happy with it.