The Gambler

fallenarch

THE SLOW RIDER
Registered
DISCLAIMER: I do these movie reviews from time to time for fun, and no I'm not an expert on movies (nor do I think I am). So take this with a grain of salt because it is entirely my opinion.

I saw The Gambler last night and was surprised with a well written, very intellectual movie that was very entertaining. I expect to be entertained for my money, but once in awhile a movie challenges us in what we believe and how we balance our choices in life. I am also a Walberg fan and I don't get why so many don't like the guy. The movie stars Mark Walberg as an English professor and addicted gambler in a big hole. The way this movie is crafted is very high quality - the framing, color, locations, and even the music really help to deliver a strong sense of tension. There is little actual violence in a plot that many less directors would have littered with naked whores and blood. The other characters are all memorable. Walbergs mother whose pain and disappointment is so powerful you can feel it in your gut; Walberg's love interest who is so ordinary looking that you feel you are watching a real event, not talented actors playing roles. Sorry but I forgot names but both these women are accomplished actors. Then there is John Goodman the philosophical loan shark, in a role that will be talked about for awhile.

I don't want to spoil it for you but as the movie unfurls, there is a question whether Walberg is good or bad, protagonist or antagonist. He manages to corrupt people with his ever deepening problems. I also question the ending of the movie where it appears that the studio "hollywooded" the movie into a love story. I think the movie would have been much more powerful had they not resolved things at the end. Maybe as more people see the movie I will explain my feelings on this more, as I would have to give things away to talk about it now.

Still, I give the movie 3.5 stars and highly recommend seeing it.