Thanks, corporate america,

WWJD

Donating Member
Registered
Let me tell a story bout a man named Greg,
A poor tech professional, no family to kept feed,
Then one day, he was sittin in 'Review',
Boss says you rock, but we're givin you the Screw!
...back stabbing that is.... not a man, just a drone...

yeah.. so.. it's like this...
I been at this dot com for 5 years
I survived 5 levels of layoffs during the "crashes"
one of the few new, 'good' breed [compared to previous slacker crew - that all got laid off]
AND they promoted me to manager
and I'm a top producer being able to document and prove how good I am at keeping thingins moving, staying on top of it all
AND they are forcing my methodologies on other parts of my department because they are so effective
AND I'm reliable, rarely call in sick
Everyone in the company loves me and loves working with me
I have offended no one all the way up to the CEO

Corporate America lives for it's money and sees nothing else... no concern for people, no humans, just money. People that live that way get no respect from me - I consider it BAD BUSINESS to live that way.

So, when a new manager came to work over me, my position changed from actually WORKING to more stat tracking and paperwork. NEWSFLASH: I'm happy and most effective as a WORKER BEE not a pointy haired boss.

In a very bold and business unconventional step, I told my boss I was not best suited for my current position [or the position my manager job had morphed into] and recommend a lateral move or demotion of myself, even glad to take a pay cut, to get back to what I am good at, what I love, and what I am motivated to do: help PEOPLE, and fix stuff that's broken. I fully expected the company to show me the door. Instead, they recognized me for the asset that I am, and took quite a few steps to make me happy - offloaded phone work to a new section [that's not really computer related junk] and transfered a problem employee away from me.