sequence question

teamorion22

Registered
I am changing my chain and sprockets. I still need to buy a dremel. This is the order I think i need to get this done but i have never done this before so please help me
1. plastics are already off. remove front sprocket cover
2. break front sprocket loose. i do not have any air tools so i was thinking about sticking an old screwdriver b/t the teeth of the rear sprocket 2 stop it from moving 2 break the front loose
3. dremel the original master link rivets off
4. use chain tool to remove master link
5. remove rear tire and rear sprocket. install new sprockets
6. put new chain on and install masterlink with chain tool.

also is there a trick to getting new chain around the new sprockets. it probably ease. I have done several 'searches' but the information i have found is either on sprocket removal/changin or chain removal/changin. not both. I have all the tools/stands except the dremel. I feel pretty good about this my main question is about the order of breaking front loose, removing chain, and then rear tire
thanks
michael

Instead of the screwdriver deal, just put the bike in gear.
Other than that, I think you are on point with the rest.
good luck:thumbsup:

#2 may be tricky. Sometimes that nut is really on. I would get some help and have them hold the brakes on while you work on it. (put it in gear too) I don't like the scredriver idea myself.

Otherwise it sounds right.

first off stop...

invest in a 1/2 drive electric impact at Harbor freight.. not that expensive and just torquing that front nut off "could" do some serious damage. Make sure trans is in neutral as well. (do not want to hammer on gears either)

order of operation is not that big a deal but I would probably pull the front cover off first and do the cleaning work (no point polluting your new chain)

R&R rear sprocket
R&R Front sprocket
R&R Chain