Purchase dilema

Over_Easy

GEO-STABILIZATION EXPERT
Donating Member
Registered
Everyone, let me start off by stating how much I admire the Busa. I have been eying the Busa for a couple of years now and have the cash saved up to buy one. I like the fact that the engine is a reliable beast (torque) even at low-mid range, comfortable enough for longer rides, the rare two-up riding capability and not to mention the unique look(s) it has and receives.

My concern is that I would like to eventually get to the track on a somewhat regular basis and believe a litre bike (GSXR-1000), which I believe most would agree, is more suitable for track days. I understand that being almost 6'3" and 220 lbs. it has a short wheelbase and cramped sitting position for me. Not pleasant for weekend riding.

Can you still have enjoyable track days at the track on a Busa or should I plan on laying it down (or worse, high side) if I take it to the track?

I'm leaning towards getting the Busa and saving up for an inexpensive, used, track only (600cc?) bike and not worry about scratched fairings, nicks, etc.?

I'm leaning towards getting the Busa and saving up for an inexpensive, used, track only (600cc?) bike and not worry about scratched fairings, nicks, etc.

Sounds like a good plan.

A lot of us goto trackdays on our Busas.

If you are looking to have fun at the track, the Busa is great.

If you looking to be the fastest guy there or have plans to go into racing, then something else would be better.

Of course both would be great. If you can afford 2 bikes
biggrin.gif

Go with the last statement. Im sure you can set the busa up to be a fun track bike, but in reality, you will probably be faster on a 600. Plus, if your like me, I would not use the busas full potential due to fear of damage. Buy a sorted 600 and wring its neck.