popping noise when taking off

2005BlueBusa

Registered
i have 1500 miles on my '05 busa and at about 1000 miles i noticed lots of popping/clicking sounds coming from the clutch area upon taking off from standing still. i drive very cautious and never race. typically i just commute to work when i ride it.

anyway it's still under warranty so i took it in. my dealer tells me that there are other busa's with this problem. so they adjusted the chain, then called me back saying "there's definitely a problem...it's still clicking". they then called suzuki which said "this is normal". now, i've been riding motorcycles for 20+ years and i don't categorize this as normal... my dealer said "well, this is a hayabusa, it's different." am i supposed to believe that this bike is so different than any bike built that it can get away with a noise like that? for that matter is it that much different than a ZX10, or a GSX1000? i have not heard of this problem on those bikes...

bottom line, how can i fix this? i've heard that the stock chain is garbage, i've heard stories of guys cleaning the chain, etc...

to me, an 11,000 motorcycle shouldn't be making noises like that under normal operation.

rock.gif
What is the idle set to... How much of a goose do you give it on take off... and does it do it when at a stable speed?

rock.gif

rock.gif

I had a chain once that started clicking, it was a new chain and it the links neded to be worked out.

Do you wear a helmet or do you ride without a helmet?

I had a chain once that started clicking, it was a new chain and it the links neded to be worked out.

Do you wear a helmet or do you ride without a helmet?
i was very strict with the breakin. making sure i varied my speeds. i would think that with 1500 miles (and 2 chain adjustments) it wouldn't be the chain.

yes i wear a helmet.

sounds like the chain to me. take a close look at the sprokets and get the back tire off the ground and spin it. Check to see if you have any binding links.