"No Busa for You"

PastorJeff

Registered
I agree that the Busa is not the bike to start on, so I have been pounding the dealerships looking for a bike to start on to learn the ropes before I get the bike of my dreams.

I am a heavy rider...280-290#'s, I have little bike experience...not since High School. I really don't want to spend alot of $$$ on a learner bike as I would rather save the $$$ for the Busa.

So here are my questions...

What is the best bike to learn on?

How much should I look to spend?

Do I buy from a dealer or look for a private party?

Do I take the MSC before I get the bike or after?

Thanks...I did a search and did not find the answers to these questions. Sorry if they are repeats.

Jeffrey

Try A Honda Rebel 250. A small cruiser, but you'll be able to fit on it. Good bike to learn on or for a everyday use by a woman. Cheap, about $2K for a recent one with low miles. You'll always get a better deal from a private party unless a dealer has a bike that he just wants to get rid of. If something looks good and has (true) low miles, it unlikely to have been abused. It may be hard to find exactly what you want looking solely in your local area.
Also be aware that for some late model used bikes may have prices so close to new that it's not worth buying used. When I was looking at Harleys, theres were tons of ads in the Cycletrader for 1 or 2 yr old bikes priced at more than the dealer wanted for a brand new one.

<!--EDIT|drlucian
Reason for Edit: None given...|1097858800 -->

To answer your
rock.gif
(IMO, which there are many)

Learn on - GSXR 600 (I'm a Suzuki fan and it's a lite and nibble bike)
Look to spend - $4,500 - $6,500 (used)
Buy - from where every you can get the cheapest price
MSF - YES....I've taken it several times and learn something each time.

just my .02 good luck
smile.gif

my first bike was a honda rebel 250 and i feel that a 280 lb dude would look like a gorilla on a mini-bike. just my .02