need solid input ref fork adjustment / oil

Shadowwolf167

Registered
Ok guys, need some solid input here. I have an 04 limited edition (not that that matters mechanically) I've seen indications on the forks that the seals have been leaking and the front end is feeling a bit soft. It's time to swap the front tire so i've decided it's time to replace the fork seals as well. Dealer wants to a$$-rape me with the labor and i'm a capable mechanic so it seems i'm gonna be doin this with the help of a buddy. I've seen several posts with regard to how to raise the front of the bike, however if anyone has some useful diagrams / photos / tips for compressing the forks etc. i'm all ears. Furthermore i've been reading and have a few questions with regard to fork oil viscosity. uh, let me put it out like this... I'm 6'2" nearly 300lbs i don't have the spare cash to get heavier springs right now so with that in mind can any of you give me some solid input as to what the best oil weight would be as well as the best compression / rebound adjustments I can make on the stock forks. I live in a rural area with most of my riding on level curvy roads. I'm not a wheelie / endo guy and my girlfriend frequently rides with me. Any and all help is greatly appreciated! oh and one more question, is it necessary to replace the dust covers when replacing the fork seals?
/////

I wouldn't say replacing the dust covers is a must, but they are only about $15, so it's worth doing. The set of 4(with the oil seals) can usually be had for around $40.
Going with a heavier oil will slow down the responsiveness/action of the forks some also. As far as adjusting the dampning, I'de imagine you'de want them both pretty stiff for your weight, but they are more of a preference and how hard/soft you set them is up to you. They do however need to be set correctly so you don't have a sloppy double bounce when you compress the forks.