MY NEW BUSA!

fear

Registered
I should introduce my self first, my name is Geoff Fear, i live in ct, and i bought my first busa today, i think i got a good deal on it, it's a 2002 leftover, blue and black for 9200 out the door, taxes freight and all. i have been riding for a few years and i have about 75k miles on a bike in the last 5 years, i have had one bad accident last year that laid me up for months, but i bought another tl1000r the beginning of this season(my third tl) and after i rode my friends busa this weekend, i ran out and bought me one. now for my questions, is it true these things run best on 89 octane fuel? and whats the best break in method? i have been lurking on the board for a week or so now, and it seems great, i look forward to posting and helping,g

Welcome Geoff!

Congrats on the new bike...and glad to see you've recovered from your crash...

Good info on this board...someone much smarter than I will be along shortly!
baaa.gif

where in ct are ya ! theres a couple of us in ffld county wanna ride ?some others up north .as far as brake in i went bye the book with no problems. 7k now. and i feel good running 93 in her and no pings or tings.

i am in milford, and i ride up here alot, but i ride with a lot of guys from ffld cty, norwalk and stamford mostly

Welcome to the board fear.
I've found that mine runs best on Chevron 92 or 94 but alot of the guys on the board are runnin 89 and are very happy with it.
Find out what yer bike runs best on in yer neck of the woods and stick with it.

Welcome to the board.  
beerchug.gif

Some will say you should follow the break-in procedure in the manual. Here's another theory on the subject.

Break-in Secrets