Moving from Cali to Florida

dbf82

Registered
So I'm a military vet having lived all over this country. Moved from South Dakota to California with in the past 2 years....not a huge change in my riding style from those two states. South Dakota has many twisties like cali canyons(7 out of 10 for similarities) minus the traffic and huge buildings. I'm a florida native but I haven't ridden a bike on florida streets in over 10 years??? How much different is riding in florida in comparison to say a cali rider?...also how does law enforcement treat sportbike riders down there? I haven't had any issues with CHP since I've been here:laugh:...i go kinda fast:whistle:. I just put 5 stacks into the bike to get it all nice and pretty and stuff and I don't want to attract anymore attention to myself to warrant trouble. Thanks

What part of Fla.? I'am from Jax. You can find some roads thats ok for touring but as you know all the roads are flat, cops here don't really target you but, we have a new law here that you must know about, if they even think your racing they can (take) your bike and you will never see it again. I like to play around but I'am real carefull...Hope this helps

I ride over to Florida sometimes with some friends, we've never had a problem with the police. the roads are pretty good, but not much in the way of good twisties.

Not really any twisties. The cops will jam you up HARD if they catch youracing or exceeding the speed limit by 30+. My advice for you is to slow down and enjoy riding without the excessive speed. Seems lots of places are cracking down on bikes as they go too fast and then crash into cages who are minding their own business......pisses off people with families etc. Where are you moving to in Florida?

Also have a motorcycle endorsement on your license and your tag mounted in the right place..Just fyi...