Laid down my new busa

yelaboy

Registered
I am new to hayabusa.org, and I not to long ago purchased a new black/gray 05 busa (Sept. 05). Unfortunately this past weekend, I laid it down after hitting some oil in the roadway. What's ironic is that I had just got off the phone with the dealership placing an order for sliders. While this is not my first bike (purchased Katana in May 05), it is my first time to lay one down. I have some significant scratching damage to the left lower and upper fairings, and there is a hole in the stator cover, whereas oil poured out of it. I have a few questions that I hope some of you can help me with...

1. Is this something that I should try to repair, or should I look into getting a new bike?

2. I know when cars are in accidents, after repair, often they never look the same; is this the case with motorcycles, more particularly busas?

3. How does laying down the bike affect the value...I always see for sale ads saying that their bike has never been laid down...after repair, can I claim that again?

Any advice that anyone can give regarding laying a bike down for the first time, I would greatly appreciate it...

Thanks...

My 2 cents: fix it up. You can either have the scratched/damaged panels repainted (hope you know a very good shop) or buy new ones (check here or ebay) I think you can also buy a new stator cover. Look at the very tips of your levers/pegs: tip overs and crashes usually leave their mark there. Not sure if CARFAX/OASIS reports also applies to bikes (in case buyer wants to run a VIN check)

If and when the day comes to sell your bike, you can admit that you laid it down but have fixed it. Or not say anything about and hope that the future buyer will not see this thread!
blush.gif

When I was shopping for my busa, I stayed away from bikes that were in an accident/crash (just my preference). No doubt, many bikes that have been in accidents are still good bikes. Best of luck.