Is an R1 a good next step?

Get the Busa. I was 38 when I started riding. I had no riding experience prior to taking the MSF course. After passing the course, I bought a used '01 R1 as my first bike and put over 47,000 miles in less than 2 years before I traded it in for a brand new '07 Busa. All I'm saying is you're matured enough and has enough experience. I think you'll be fine.

I agree.. take the course and take the leap.. Just take it slow.. I came from growing up on cruiser and then not being on a bike for years. I got a busa.. But when I first got on it, I didn't go fast at all. I didn't rip the throttle.. I learned the bike. Even when my other 600, litter or busa friends were leaving me behind.. I just told them I know where you're going so I'll see you there. Even today I perceed with more caution than not, because I kind of have an attatchment to this thing we call life. But sounds like you're a responsible one that too likes your life.... But take the course if you haven't (didn't read EVERY thread) and take the leap.. There's a busa calling your name some where!

Domo arigato gozaimas! Sorry it took me a bit to reply...different time zones and all. You guys are a huge help, and have convinced me to take the leap and get a busa.
Also, someone mentioned about the PACAF rules. That used to be the case, but now it is simply a demo at the msf course to show that you can handle the bike...so long as you are over an E -4. I have been blessed to have been promoted several times since then.

Thanks again guys. ありがとう
Posted via Mobile Device

I learned how to ride on dirt bikes, took the MSF BRC on a whim because I wanted to get a street bike but hadn't sttled on which one. I sat on everything but once my butt hit the Busa seat I was in love and purchased it. That was Feb 06 and since then I have completed the ERC and Rider Coach courses; I even do "The Box" on the Busa.