how lean can i go at low boost levels?

hendrixgr

Registered
Hi.
I would like to ask if anyone knows of course, how lean can i go at say 5000 rpm (actually 4600-4800 rpm) and 2psi of boost without risking any damage to the engine?
Right now i am at 14.7:1 but i have tried up to 17:1 for 10 seconds (always with steady throttle cruising) with no ill effect on engine smoothness or acceleration performance.
I don't know for sure but i am thinking that nothing bad can happen at max 5000 rpm and max 2 psi of boost...
As you might have guessed i am trying to increase mileage although i don't really need to, there is something inside my brain that won't let me relax :laugh:
Chris

Just as low as your pockets are deep, those gas pennies really add up when you're talking a $5K motor, just saying......

Experts should be along soon :poke:

On the RCC website it says A/F should be 11.5 - 11.8 under boost. But I am no expert, they should be here shortly.

-D

This guy would stay away from anything over 13.5 while building boost at 5k. Though It would probly be hard to burn that motor at 5k short of running it without oil.

Thank you all for your help.
I am sure that it i am stretching it at 17:1 but i would think that 14.7 is tolerable at maximum 2 psi and 4800 rpm for a low compression (9.5:1) motor.
In any case i will leave it to 13.2 -13.5 for now just to be safe.
For a strange reason i just can leave my perfectly running turbo Hayabusa and my mind in piece.
Chris

For a strange reason i just can leave my perfectly running turbo Hayabusa and my mind in piece.
Chris

That thinking may change if you ever end up toasting a motor because you couldnt leave well enough alone. That peace of mind will vanish and you might end up saying "damn,it ran perfect why did I have to F with it?!?":laugh: