HID Group Buy INSTALL Question

coop65sr

Donating Member
Registered
I'm gonna get the 6000k HID Kit from our sponsor here on the board but I have a question on the installation if ya'll will help me please....

I am totally new to the HID Kit and all and I have done as much research as I could today looking in some of our old posts...found one really good install that ICEMAN did a good while ago and I think that some of what he did may not apply today in an install and that is where I'm confused....

I looked at the group buy on the Kits and decided to go with the 6000k setup high and low-- I see that the kit has two ignitors/two ballasts, etc...

My question is-- I remember in some post I read a long time ago about there being an issue with the ignitor or ballast or something having undue wear put on it by the light coming on as soon as you turn the key on---then momentarily going out when the starter button is pushed, then coming back on of course when the engine starts... and I thought that there was a fix for this... an on/off toggle switch or something..

Is this STILL a problem I need to avoid?
rock.gif
If so, what exactly do I need to do to set this up??? I don't want to buy this kit and have to be replacing parts prematurely---

So, please educate me on the install and whatever else I need to buy to do this right--- I can do the install and wiring and all, but if there is a better/newer install on the board I'd appreciate the info-- Thanks, Chris

some put on a time delay so the light does not get juice until about 30-90 seconds after the key is turned on...I think it is some DEI part.

I have an 06 and do not have the delay and had nothad problems yet with my bulbs.

If you hold the start button then turn on the key the light wont come on till you pull in the clutch when it starts, or some thing like that, some one help me out here...