Gen1 Busa Gear Position indicator...

ThommoHawk

Registered
Hi all -

Newbie here in the UK and not yet an owner but I have been modifying a set of GEN1 clocks for a friend and thought you might be interested in them.

Blue backlighting, (nothing new there) but I've incorporated a gear position indication too by illuminating the numbers for gears 1-6. It also shows a kill switch condition by an animated pattern and both patterns and LED brilliance are user programmable from the normal odometer reset button.

Anyway, I've stuck a video on youTube and thought I'd post a link to see what you think.

[video=youtube_share;1moCE2sjNbs]http://youtu.be/1moCE2sjNbs?hd=1[/video]

I only returned to biking in 2007 after 27+ years away (now 48) and currently have a GSX1400 having only previously owned a 1977 RD250DX. A Busa would be nice but I figured I ought to re-acquaint myself with riding before getting too fast and the naked nature of the 1400 keeps me generally below 100mph as it gets a bit windy above that...

Anyway - great forum you have over there and I look forward to reading more about your rides..

Very slick :thumbsup::thumbsup: What are you using to drive the GPI display?

Thanks - I use a PIC Microcontroller IC. It reads the voltage from the gear position sensor then drives the LEDs. User setup is done via the odometer RESET button so all can be configured from the clocks themselves....

Awesome! What about neutral? I noticed the 0 doesn't light up? ???

Sent from my iPhone using Forum Runner

That is different and pretty dayum cool. Looks like US gauges, love the 220 ........ and the LEDs :laugh:

Your friend needs fuel :whistle:

Hmm - that's an interesting point...I notice that the sweep only goes to about 200, or the same angle as the tacho... does that look right to you? bearing in mind I've not seen a set of Gen1 clocks before.