Experience with Yamaha Champions Riding School

spotrot

Registered
I took theYamaha Champions Riding School 3 weeks ago at Miller Motorsports Park in Utah (just west of SLC).
For me, not only first school, first time on a track, and the first time getting any instruction on riding technique. So take that into consideration in this review. And I choose this particular school because it was the only two day school that fit with my travel schedule in past 2 years

Brief summary: I feel I am a far better rider, much safer, and I will do track days and courses again.
I’m glad took this course. I suspected this was a high-level, no spoon-feeding course and that proved true. My thought was why not learn from racers who have proven their skill at the very top levels of competition and then start practicing the way they all agree it is best accomplished. I’m not good at overcoming old habits, so I thought I’d try to learn it right the first time.

On another forum, another prior student wrote a very long detailed account of the classes, and I found it to be very accurate so I won’t restate what he said. I’ll just add items I thought of interest.

Each day, an instructor rode behind and filmed each student around the full track, and then each video was critiqued at end of day. The videos are then posted on their site.