CBR XX Blackbird

PandaNin

Donating Member
Registered
I've been driving the same road to the office for 4 years and every day without fail I see this guy on a CBR XX on the other side of the highway (2 lane divided)** headed in the opposite direction. When I'm on my bike we wave like we're best friends but we never met. When it was introduced the XX was my favorite bike in the world. It was so gorgeous but I never had one. Then I met her highness Busa and the affair hasn't ended yet.

Anyways, I was at the dealership getting oil changed and doing the 15,000 mile checkup and when I walk out, there the CBR XX is. I turned around, went back into the service area and had to ask, "Who owns the Blackbird?" Turns out it's this super nice guy in his late 50's or early 60's. He bought the XX new in 1998, put 4,000 miles on it then put the attachment on so his wife could ride with him. We spent the next 2 hours ooing and ahhing over both our bikes. He LOVES the busa but had never thrown a leg over one. Problem solved there. I LOVE the XX but never threw a leg over one either, problem solved too!

He drives the XX every day from Novato to Mare Island. To make it more comfy he modded it with Goldwing pegs. Stock seat, suspension and internals. The XX has over 99,000 miles on it and he's never had to do any major maintenance. Only had to adjust the valves once. He was in getting it checked to make sure everything is good. It was.

I had to get pics for you cause it's the most unique XX you'll ever see.

Now when we pass we can truly wave as friends.

CBR-XX-sidecar.jpg

CBR-XX-speedo.jpg

** (Highway 37 between Vallejo and Novato for those that know the area)

Last edited by a moderator:
Old honda fan myself... seems to be another great super bike...

Who'd have guessed a super black bird and a Peregrine falcon can get along? Kind of like the fox and the hound.
tounge.gif

It is a sweet bike... Wonder if Honda's going to pump any more out in '09 or '10?