Buying my first Busa

Hoangdonghai

Registered
hello busa owners,

1st sorry for my poor English.

I am a Busa enthusiast living in Japan (I am not Japanese tho) I am planning to buy a secondhand Busa gen 1 in a small bike shop here. The shop doesn’t provide any maintenance. They just sell the bike as it is. I went to the shop to check the bike. It is very clean considering the age (1999 model year. 48,000km in the clock). I have no problem with the outside conditions. However I cannot tell of the engine is still okay. They let me rev the bike for couple of minutes but since I am a novice, I cannot tell if there is any problem. I found a video of the bike on YouTube posted by the shop, I would appreciate if someone could take a look (or a listen) and tell me if the engine sounds okay. I want to buy it for the reasonable price but if the engine have problems, the cost of fixing it can be overwhelming here.
I would appreciate any help. Thank you!

URL:

Hello brother,:welcome: to your new home for all things Hayabusa.
That motor sounds UGLY. I do not hear bad bearings,but it has severe cam chain rattle. An easy fix,as long as the chain and gears are not toast.

99's have a bit of a list of issues. Any details on whats been done?
Your English is fine my friend...its ours that needs work. :laugh:

Good idea to tell us what their asking price is...convert that to US dollars for us.
We can help you BIGTIME. We have 10,000 years of Busa know-how on this site. My name is Rubb...I am at your service. :bowdown:
Rubb.

hello busa owners,

1st sorry for my poor English.