Busa Knock Threads

yamatech2003

Registered
I am new to the board and was actually just lurking. I couldn't help to notice the number of threads about strange knocking noises. I work as a tech in a multiline dealership and thought you guys should know that there are/were some problems with busas doing this. It seems to limited to 06 models from what I can tell, but no less than 6 times just this past summer customers came in complaining about a strange knock (especially when hot). We checked oil pressure (at 140F oil @4k RPM) and found that it was a little below the minimum in the spec.

After teardown we found that about half of them had improperly machine crankcases on the main journals (bored too big/beyond service limit) and the other few had the wrong sized main journal bearings in them (found by plasti-gauge).

Just though I would throw it out there, So far Suzuki has covered them all, but I'm not so sure you want to let your warranty run out before this rears its head. Most of the ones we have worked on were in the 4-8k mile range. If you hear a knock...check your oil pressure!

Really appreciate the info- especially since most techs say its normal. My warranty ran out Nov9, but I bought the extended- I am still trying to figure out how to attack the second gear "slip" that I have on my '06 with 12k on it. Any suggestions?

I think I'm having that second gear slip as well... but only when I'm running hard through second gear... I think it is f*d up...

Well, without riding your motorcycle, I can't really comment on the 2nd gear slip. I have noticed that the shift forks in these bikes are pretty weak/narrow and bend easily. If you do end up needing the dealer to go into your engine to deal with the knocks, it really wouldn't take them much to replace shift forks and such while in there...they actually remove and re-install them during the knock repair.