A few motor questions

DCar

Registered
Im not new to boost "have built two AWD DSM's with 67mm or bigger setups" but i am new to boost with bikes. I was told that a stock bottom end can hold around 300whp before it starts to let go. I know I'll need to stright cut the tranny gears, clutch upgrade, arp stud everything and all that good stuff. I wanna stay fairly stock and make this a street/strip bike. I have a few questions about the motor end of things. I'm looking for 300-350WHP

1. How much HP can factory pistons "on aftermarket rods"hold before coming apart?

2. How much HP/Boost can a factory head gasket hold on stock compression?

3. What kind of HP can the factory wrist pins hold up?

Thanks guys any information would be nice. Viva la .Org :bowdown:

-Dwayne

Well here is what I have gathered from my time and readings here. Answering some but not at all ur ?'s. The factory rods are the weakest link. Reliable up to 300ish. If I were to tear the engine apart to replace the rods, I would replace everything. So, for the sake of arguement, i would say the factory internals are good to about 300 minus the crank and I have read great things about the factory head gasket. Don't quote me, but Greg(boostbysmith) is running just over 400 hp and has stock head gaskets on his. So, any streetable bike no worries there. A drag bike making enough hp to make baby jesus cry be a different story.

Actually Greg aka boostbysmith on his original Gen 1 Turbo Busa believe he did Rods, Spacer, Adjustable Cam Gears and Head Studs but still running factory pistons and makeing 400+ hp
Posted via Mobile Device