2 up riding concerns

OldMan

Registered
I finally got my wife to agree to a ride this Sunday! I took her last night for an around the block ride just to try it out. I was kind of surprised at just how much of an impact her added weight had on the bike's ability to maneuver. My wife seems to be a fairly average build at 5'5 and 150 pounds, however I'm not small, at 6'3 and 250. So our combined weight is 400 pounds. My question for all you with 2 up riding experience is "is my 2011 busa going to be alright"? I fear that I may be stressing it. We have a 120 mile ride planned this Sunday and it involves a lot of mountains/twisties... My wife and I appreciate all your feedback and will post our pix on the bike real soon!

absolutely no issues at all. Our combined weight is a little more. My busa is an 09 with 13K kilometers on it now. I have been riding 2 up for over 10 years. The busa can handle it without any issues at all. Couple of tips, Set your front brake leaver to setting 1. Your hand will love you for it. Gear down for your stops, combine both front and rear braking when slowing down. No issues for the busa at all. Your comfort will suck a little from her leaning on you. :laugh:

Max your tire pressures, and ride conservatively until you get used to the different handling characteristics.
Stress the bike.. no.:laugh:

I also have had no issues,,, i stiffen the front & rear shocks and go. I guess you just have to get use to the way it feels.

1zqgbon.jpg
[/IMG]Stress on a 200HP engine with a total weight of less then 1000lbs? Most 4 and 6 cylinder cars dont have 200HP and avg weight is 3300lbs. Do the math. I would increase my shifting RPM no lower then 4500 on level ground.
Becareful of the passenger head buts, with new passengers and be sure she doesnt lean to much, Ive ridden with many passengers some are great some are good and some I just want OFF!! Keep your head distance to prevent helmet head buts, practice your shifting and smoothness is the key.