'08 Brake Test Comparo

Scar

Seasoned Pilot
Donating Member
Registered
There seems to be quite a bit of consternation and negative publicity regarding the brakes on the Gen2 'busa.  I offer the following in reply...

An article, written by Dr. Voyko Banjac, in the November 2007 issue of Friction Zone Magazine (www.friction-zone.com) offers comparisons (bikes against bikes and bikes against cages) which outlines that of the bikes tested, the 'busa tied the Ducati 999 for 2nd best, and was only bettered by the Triumph Speed Triple in the 60-0 stop-off.  The two 2nd-place bikes stopped in 112 feet, and the best of them stopped in 107 feet.  It stands to reason that because the 'busa is so much heavier than both the 999 and the Speed Triple, that the brakes must be better.  I'm not an expert, just really good at 'reasoning'.

These results (stopping distances) were taken from the testing EXPERTS at Road & Track for the cages, and from the testing EXPERTS at Motorcycle Consumer News for the bikes. I, for one, do not question their validity.

The 'busa and 999 stopped four feet shorter than a Corvette, a Porsche 911, and a Kawi ZX-10; two feet shorter than a BMW 750i, as well as the Honda CBR1000RR.  The report goes on and on, so I won't continue to quote it.  If you get a chance, you should read the entire article  It's called:  Crash Science; "Motorcycle Handling Myth #1--A Motorcycle Stops on a Dime".

The article can be found here...

http://www.friction-zone.com/west/crashscience.html

RANT:

Personally speaking, the brakes on my '08 are better than those on my '06...so for ME, it's an upgrade.  Then again, I'm not looking for stuff to complain about and/or pick at and/or dissect.  
whistling.gif

As 'busa owners and fellow oRg members, we respect your opinions and perspectives.  But, if it's not too much to ask, please stop beating the dead horse.