Took engine apart

Kainedogg

Registered
One of the pistons is pretty much screwed, as is its combustion chamber. Valves are intact and I am hoping a machine shop can at least fix the head, maybe mill it, then go with a 1441 kit from one of the sponsors. Feel free to pipe in on ideas and suggestions. I am a disabled army vet so money is not as free flowing as it used to be. Once reassembled I have a 30hp spray-bar kit and a PCIII when the time comes to tune it. Doubt I can afford to mess with the cams.

Omg1.jpg

Omg2.jpg

Sigh....bolt from a nitrous spray bar worked itself loose over time and got ingested. It spat the washer out...in pieces but kept the bolt for a souvenir.

Sigh....bolt from a nitrous spray bar worked itself loose over time and got ingested. It spat the washer out...in pieces but kept the bolt for a souvenir.
Sorry to hear that man; good luck on gettin' this all fixed up to your liking.

D

Doesn't look too bad. Looks like you shut her down pretty quickly.
The head can be polished out and tigged if the gouges are deep. The head should be leak tested for bent valves or nicked seats. The rod should come off to check for any damage to the rod bearings. You would hate to spin a rod bearing after putting it back together. You needed an excuse for getting bigger jugs for your girl anyway:laugh:

Doesn't look too bad. Looks like you shut her down pretty quickly.
The head can be polished out and tigged if the gouges are deep. The head should be leak tested for bent valves or nicked seats. The rod should come off to check for any damage to the rod bearings. You would hate to spin a rod bearing after putting it back together. You needed an excuse for getting bigger jugs for your girl anyway:laugh:

Your words are so true friend. Taking her to the machine shop this week for them check it out. I will post new info as it comes available. Looking forward to the 1441 though, should make for a hell of a ride. :thumbsup: