Suspension Settings

Mikey D

Registered
I just bought an '02 Busa. It has a restored salvage title so I have gone over every fastner on the bike. It runs and handles like nothing I have ever ridden. The problem is high seed cornering. When going through high speed turns (90-120 MPH) it feels like the back end is wallowing (compressing and extending several times through the turn) Needless to say this is uncomfortable at speed. Does anyone have anytips on setting the up/tuning the stock suspension?

P.S. I am a poor school teacher raising 6 children so the answer cannot be spend big $ on new suspension trix

excellent question, however you are not likely to get alot of response. I have seen at least 5 questions like this and none had response. I think its because each bike and rider is different and honestly it is an art, not a science to tune suspensions. Having said that I will take a shot.

First what are we working with? Is it a stock shock in back? Is it off a Busa? The reason I ask that is since you have salvage title, it was in a wreck at some time. Didi it get rear-ended? If so they may have replaced the swingarm and shock with new. And they may have substituted a non busa shock?

What is the condition of the tire and the pressure you are running? Go no lower than 30 PSI at any time. 35 to max pressure is OK. Lower will get you more patch on the road but it causes the tire to "walk" on the rim a little. It gives you better small bump compliance but it can cause a tire to bottom out and pinch if you hit the edge of a pot hole. 38-40 PSI is good for the street. 32 is good for the track.